It’s like Easter around here…

… Eggs everywhere!! We have grabbed a few for our annual hatching project with the children. It is always great fun and the kids are so excited! It is very amusing how hard it is for them to wait three ENTIRE WEEKS for those chicks to hatch. They are convinced it can’t take that long. Three weeks is like an eternity when you’re four years old! At the end of the first day, I caught them crowding around the incubator, telling me the eggs are hatching. “We saw them move!!” “They have cracks in them!” They don’t always have the firmest grasp of time measurement. “It takes three minutes for them to hatch!” one boy told me earnestly, then looked confused when I told him: “Weeks, not minutes.” What’s the difference, really..?? LOL!

The weather is lovely and everything is green, green, green. I’m enjoying it and taking advantage of it as much as I can, because all too soon, it will be scorching hot and the fields will be yellow and brown. But for now, we still have wonderful greens for everone to enjoy!

A veritable feast of green!

This brings me to Layla/Tiltan (the name Tiltan does not stick, she’s definitely Layla now…) Our little donk is absolutely mesmerised by all that green. It messes with her head. When she is faced with the wheat field, every thought of her humans and her training is chased out of her mind, to be replaced by: “GOT TO GET TO THE GREEEENNN!”

So today, we tried to trick her. We think she needs more exercise than she is getting right now, but every time I take her out, she makes a beeline for the wheat field and no team of horses can drag her away from it. I was kind of nervous to take her out by myself, so my friend S. went with me. We took her for a walk, but to the other side, away from the wheat field, into the kibbutz. And it went perfectly well! As long as she doesn’t see the sea of green, she is biddable and sweet. 

Layla’s dream

We had a very enjoyable walk, but the one who was happiest might have been S.’s dog. She has a dog of a native breed – a Saluki, a very skinny and swift desert animal. The dog was beside herself with happiness when we took the donkey out. She ran around us in circles like a sheep dog gone crazy and tried to get the donk to play with her. Layla observed her with mild curiosity and did not kick the crap out of her. The dog snapped at her back legs, sniffed her tail and almost jumped on her back. If that was me, I’d have two hoof prints on my stomach – I still haven’t been able to lift her back feet. She seems to like dogs. It was a great opportunity for us to make jokes about their shared Bedouin heritage. Oh, good times.

The Saluki in a quieter moment with her friend, the cat.

Layla might be younger and greener than I initially thought. I don’t think she has been ridden before. The reason I think that is, well… I tried, and she threw me off. Well, almost. I leaned on her back, then put my leg over, and then quickly jumped off while she performed an impressive rodeo-worthy buck, then stood looking at me with an offended expression on her face. So that didn’t go down too well! Anyway, I am probably a little too big for her, but I didn’t feel comfortable with letting the kids try it. I won’t try again now. Better wait until the vet had a chance to check her and to see how old she is. At what age are donkeys fully grown, anyway..? Back to Google! 

Also, she is even cleverer than we thought. Except opening doors by pushing, she can now also open doors by pulling. Half-doors, anyway. She simply puts her head over the door and walks backward while pulling the door with her chin. Our jaws were on the floor!

Opening this door is no problem at all.

Hope you’re having a good week and aren’t being thrown off donkeys! 😛

About tarnegolita

Dutch expatriate, mother of 3 boys, freelance translator and pet zoo keeper in a kibbutz in Israel.
This entry was posted in Animals, donkeys and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to It’s like Easter around here…

  1. Kim says:

    Just want to say 3 weeks is an eternity when you are 54 years old and can’t wait to hear the happy sound of peeps! Lovely post as always! Best, Kim

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sunith says:

    Perfect place to be and a writeup that lets us think as being a part of it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. dayphoto says:

    I just love coming here and visiting you and your friends!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great update 🙂 I remember doing the egg hatching project with my son’s class at school…they were about 5 and the head teacher and I exchanged worried looks when they asked what would happen to the grown up chickens…!
    Layla is adorable-she looks like a cuddly toy and I love the picture of the Saluki and tabby cat 🙂 x

    Liked by 1 person

  5. aheikkinen says:

    Lovely pictures. So green already for everyone to enjoy.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

