Late Caturday

My Caturdays are always late, but I have to tell you the latest news on the feral cats! Our kibbutz council has finally agreed to finance the neutering of 10 street cats. I’m so happy!! There are a lot more than 10 cats in the kibbutz, but it’s a great start. That means I can give at least 10 of them an easier life without constant fights and pregnancies.

I started trying to trap them last week. I am concentrating on the six young ones, but other cats get into the trap, too. I am now feeding them in the doorway of a nearby bomb shelter. Someone will probably tell me off for it soon, but for now it works. The only problem is that the neighbourhood dogs have now found out that when I arrive, it means tasty cat food is being dispensed. They wait on a distance and as soon as I turn my back, they chase the cats away and wolf down the food. So now I have to stand and wait until the cats have finished eating.

It makes me so angry! It’s like dogs have a free ticket to do anything they like around here. No one keeps their dogs under any sort of control. They are so much more annoying and dangerous than the cats, yet the street cats get a bad rap. Just this evening, one of the cats was cornered and attacked by a gang of three dogs. It was an older male who has been around for years. I can’t find him now, I really hope he’s ok. 

Anyway, the good news is that I have now caught, neutered and released four females and one male – the adorable black and white one! Here are a few of them, looking scared in the trap:

I have seen them all after their release and they seem to be doing fine. There seem to be a lot of those black tabby cats around – I have caught two of them and I see at least two more hanging around. One of them was already in the early stages of a pregnancy, but we caught it in time.

I think that these two are the parents of the young ones:

The ginger tom is for sure the son of our friends’ cat, who left neutering their male cat a bit too late. The cats look identical and even have the same meow!

It’s funny that the cats I caught don’t run away from me now! I have noticed before that when you trap and neuter a street cat, they seem to be friendlier towards you afterwards, even though you have put them through a very scary situation. My theory is: they remember that I take them away from the vet and release them, so in their eyes, I saved them from the evil vet. LOL! The cats I have trapped now wait for me and start meowing when they see me. Or maybe it’s just because they don’t have that much to do anymore, having lost their drive to procreate! πŸ˜‰

So that was my Caturday update! Hope you had a good one, too! 💚

About tarnegolita

Dutch expatriate, mother of 3 boys, freelance translator and pet zoo keeper in a kibbutz in Israel.
This entry was posted in Animals, cats and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Late Caturday

  1. Well done some brilliant work there! And what good news from the council too πŸ™‚ I thought dogs might have been more of a worry, but what a great job you’ve done! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Outstanding! You’re doing such a great thing. I’m glad you’re getting a small benefit — friendlier cats. πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Littlesundog says:

    I believe animals read our energy… those cats know a friendly and trustworthy human when they see one! ha ha! Great work you do to keep these cats healthy and safe. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. dayphoto says:

    Dogs can be scary….if they attack cats, they will attack children and other small animals. Sigh! You are those cat’s angel. Truely! I love dogs and cats and all animals. You are doing so much to help out!

    Liked by 1 person

    • tarnegolita says:

      Aww thank you!! *Blush*! I do what I can, but it always feels like there is so much more that should be done! All those poor kitties out on the streets… Yes and the loose dogs are a BIG pet peeve of mine! I think it is dangerous, irresponsible and unfair to other people and animals. Dog owners unfortunately rule the place here. It makes me very angry, but I can’t make people be more responsible… So frustrating!! πŸ˜‰

      Like

  5. What are your thoughts on adding hormonal preventatives to cat food? I know it is done in the Netherlands and it prevents feral cats to reproduce. Which in itself is protecting bird populations etc.

    Like

Leave a Reply

