Eggs in the pond

Dear ducks. Why do you lay eggs in the pond? So I can find a few good rotten eggs when I clean it? Do you do it just so they can wedge themselves into the drain and clog it up, so I have to somehow break them and push them out with a stick? Is that your idea of a joke? Also, is it amusing to you when I break one and a truly awful smell greets me? Well, you’ve succeeded in making a dirty job even more disgusting. I’d be grateful if you could lay your eggs in the nestboxes in future. Or I might have to rethink that idea about getting you some feeder fish to hunt. 

Also, I have no idea how these two got up there:

They certainly didn’t know how to get down. Anyone care to explain?

Thanks, your dedicated guardian.

About tarnegolita

Dutch expatriate, mother of 3 boys, freelance translator and pet zoo keeper in a kibbutz in Israel.
This entry was posted in Animals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Eggs in the pond

  1. aheikkinen says:

    Oh, a strange day at the Pet Zoo, eh ?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lol…duck humour’s just the best…did you send them the BILL for your cleaning services?! Ha ha ha πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. markgelbart says:

    I found some goose eggs in a pond a few years back. An overpopulation of geese makes this pond water very high in salmonella. Nevertheless, the eggs seemed fresh enough, so I hard boiled and ate them. I did not get sick.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Katrin says:

    LOL, yea my girls have tried the same. The trick I found was to not let them out of their nesting box area until after 9am. If they are out roaming and swimming before 9am chances are they didn’t remember to all lay in the box area and I’ll find eggs anywhere and everywhere usually like you after they are nasty. But after 9am is usually pretty safe. Things I’ve read say after 10am is safest, but maybe that depends on one’s flock and habits. When the weather is nice sure they quack and moan at me demanding I am the worst jailer ever and they need their yard time now! But not till after 9am girls and Spot, sorry.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

