Caturday with Bessie

I haven’t mentioned Bessie much in my cat posts. She is one of our pet zoo cats, but we didn’t choose her – she chose us. She just started showing up, looking for food and attention. Her ear is snipped, indicating that she’s been spayed and vaccinated, and she’s extremely friendly. She’s definitely a dumped or lost housecat. We weren’t planning on three cats, but that’s how it goes… Bessie discovered there is cat food here, so she’s here to stay! 

We are quite attached to her by now. She is part of the crew. The other two cats do not like her, but they just stay out of each other’s way. Bessie is a bit bossy with the other cats, but when it comes to chickens, she’s a big wuss. The roosters wait for me to give her food and then jump on to her mattress, chasing her away. I have to stand next to her and fend off the birds until she’s finished eating.

I have to say though, that I haven’t seen a single mouse in the feed shed for ages now. The cats are obviously doing a good job!

The feral cats keep my mind occupied. I might have found an adopter for the friendly black and white one, but the others are not going to be house cats… 

I have run into difficulties with the people who live in that row of appartments… They say the cats bother them and they demand that I stop feeding them. One girl told me the cats were disgusting. There she was, face full of make-up, hair straightened, coloured and hightlighted, carefully dressed. I was standing there in my dirty work clothes, with my broken nails and hacked-off hair. I told her: “You are disgusting.” Afterwards, that made me LOL, but she definitely did not see the humour!

Oh well. I have to listen to her though, if she doesn’t want the cats there. So I have taken away their things and started feeding them further down the path. That’s the best I can do. Can’t stop feeding them, sorry! But it kind of illustrates the general attitude here towards animals and specifically streetcats: they are dirty and dangerous, kind of like rats. I can never see them that way. I look at them and see cute animals that could have been pets living on the streets. 

Oh well! We keep going! Hope you had a better Caturday than I did! πŸ˜‰

About tarnegolita

Dutch expatriate, mother of 3 boys, freelance translator and pet zoo keeper in a kibbutz in Israel.
This entry was posted in Animals, cats and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Caturday with Bessie

  1. allangilmour says:

    Mr Midnight and Sir Winston, from our blog “Gilmours Nice Place”, send their love to Bessie. Such a beautiful little darling.
    Meow, purr purr and kind regards out of the magical Black Forest. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s hard when others just see a nuisance and very sad too. Don’t lose heart, you do great work πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Bessie is beautiful. I’m so sorry you’re facing the uphill battle over “community cats” (as we’re starting to call them here) Maybe there’s some information here that might help: http://torontoferalcatcoalition.ca/links-resources/ Hopefully, a lot of the information travels well. Perhaps your well dressed neighbour would be interested in donating enough to cover a spay surgery — to prevent any more “disgusting” cats!! (Kidding, but bitterly.)

    Liked by 1 person

    • tarnegolita says:

      πŸ˜‚ good joke, cat fosterer! No chance I’m afraid! Especially now that I called her disgusting, LOL! Really put my foot in it there! But it was funny because I had been cleaning the duck pond and I was definitely more disgusting than her! πŸ˜› But I got some really good information from someone today about a cat charity that spays and neuters, I didn’t know they existed! Yay! πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. aheikkinen says:

    It was so wise of Bessie to choose you πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

