Cat Rescue Corner

Close to the pet zoo, a family of feral cats has taken up residence. They forage in the garbage bins and hunt for mice. I have been feeding them on and off together with a girl who lives close, Michal. There are about eight cats, a mother with kittens, her brother and another few. One of the kittens has become very friendly, a black and white male.

Now the weather has turned cold and stormy, we are worried about them. This is a difficult time for street cats. I want to get them all properly vaccinated and neutered, so we won’t have 50 cats to worry about next spring… But it’s expensive. Michal and I simply don’t have the funds to pay for this ourselves. There is no government service for cats. Stray dogs are picked up and brought to shelters, but cats are left to fend for themselves. I have applied for funding from the kibbutz, but we haven’t received an answer yet. We are also looking for a family to adopt the black and white one.

In the mean time, I decided to build a “Cat Rescue Corner” next to Michal’s apartment! πŸ™‚ There are baskets, blankets, food and water. They have been checking it out and they look quite pleased with it! The only problem is the dogs… I hope they will leave the cats alone in this weather. There is no point asking people not to let their dogs run loose. Blank looks and shrugs are the only answer I get to that.

My friend Ravit once put it like this: “Here, the men come first, then the dogs, and then women and children. Cats and other animals are somewhere at the bottom of the list.” I’m afraid there’s a lot of truth in that. :/

Power to women and cats!! 

🐱💚🐱💚🐱💚🐱💚🐱💚🐱💚🐱💚🐱💚

About tarnegolita

Dutch expatriate, mother of 3 boys, freelance translator and pet zoo keeper in a kibbutz in Israel.
This entry was posted in Animals, cats and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Cat Rescue Corner

  1. Goog luck with your efforts. πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Vicki says:

    thank you for providing food and shelter for them.. you have a kind heart.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. aheikkinen says:

    You and the the girl Michal are very kind-hearted. I believe that the cats are ever so thankful for your help. Fingers crossed you will get a positive answer to your application for funding. Power to people who really care 🐱 πŸ’š

    Liked by 1 person

  4. What a wonderful kind thing to do-I hope you get your funding πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. So kind! A tip about their shelters … here it’s recommended to use straw instead of cloth bedding (unless you can wash/change it regularly). It’s cleaner and doesn’t stay as wet. (I can’t tell from the photos how sheltered the space is.) Fingers crossed for funding for vet care!

    Liked by 1 person

    • tarnegolita says:

      Oh really? That’s great, I have heaps of straw! Now I know why the pet zoo cats always sleep in the straw and never on the blankets and pillows we give them! πŸ™‚ Thanks, I will try that! X

      Like

  6. markgelbart says:

    I’ve become an expert over the years at taming feral cats. Currently, there are only 2 hanging around my house. One sits on my back porch almost all day, everyday, and won’t let me go back inside the house when I go outside. It demands attention. The younger ones are easiest to tame.

    Liked by 1 person

    • tarnegolita says:

      Yes, the younger they are, the easier it is! One of our pet zoo cats is an ex-feral, we found her when she was about 3 months old. Now she’s very cuddly – but only to me and my pet zoo partner. Thanks for commenting! X

      Like

  7. roshendalal says:

    I have a mini-cat shelter. Have posted pics on my cat blog, catsinindia.blogspot.in

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

