Caturday with Quail Chicks

Ok, a bit late, but Caturday needs to be observed! This is Keshet watching the quail chicks hatch. 

We have lost quite a lot of quail lately, including our white male. I collected some eggs and put them in the incubator in a last-ditch attempt to breed a few white chicks. Three of them hatched today – all brown. I was a bit sad, but my husband told me not to be racist. Colour-ist, I suppose. Brownist.

Quail chicks are incredibly cute though, no matter what colour they are. They are safely in the bathroom, away from the cats.

Happy week to all! 💚

About tarnegolita

Dutch expatriate, mother of 3 boys, freelance translator and pet zoo keeper in a kibbutz in Israel.
This entry was posted in Animals, poultry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Caturday with Quail Chicks

  1. AAAAAHHHHH!!
    Oh my they are adorable!!
    Sorry no white ones, but I hope these ones stay happy and healthy πŸ™‚ x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The Shepherd says:

    It must be in the air! We just hatched up about 50 quail ourselves! We have one white adult, but no white chicks yet! Although, it does affect sexing them later, so maybe for the best!

    Liked by 1 person

    • tarnegolita says:

      Did you, that’s funny! I thought I was the only one hatching chicks in the middle of winter! πŸ˜€ I think the white is probably recessive, so it might come out in the next generation? Good luck with all your chicks! X

      Like

  3. Vicki says:

    the cat looks like it is licking its lips.. I love quail, we used to have a lot near where we live but I haven’t seen them for quite awhile now.. I hope they come back.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. So adorable! I would spend all my time watching them.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. aheikkinen says:

    So cute, so tiny ❀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

