3 Day Quote – Day 2

This is a quote from one of my Favourite Books of All Times. One of those books that changes your life and determines the way you think. This book is Sophie’s World by the Norwegian author Jostein Gaarder. 

Jostein Gaarder writes philosophy books for children. What..? Yes. Philosophy books for kids. Older kids. I suppose you could call it YA literature. Sophie’s World is his best-known work and in my opinion his masterpiece. It’s a history of philosophy from ancient times until now, told in a series of mysterious and entertaining lessons, of which fourteen-year old Sophie is the only pupil. As the book progresses, the plot itself takes a rather mind-bending philosophical twist.

I discovered this book when I was a student and I remember being glued to the pages as I read, my boyfriend at the time complaining that I didn’t have any attention for him. Please don’t disturb me, I’m having a Life-changing Book Moment! After I finished it, I felt like I looked at the world in a totally different way. I have reread it many times since then.

There is so much we don’t know. And it’s perfectly ok not to know things. In fact, the more educated you are and the more life experience you gain, the more you realise how many things you don’t know. Often, I haven’t got a clue what to think about stuff. Where do people always get their opinions from? How do they know what is right..? 

One thing I do know is: everybody has their own truth. And true wisdom is to accept and respect that. 

Up to a point, of course. πŸ˜‰

Thanks again Samantha for nominating me!

About tarnegolita

Dutch expatriate, mother of 3 boys, freelance translator and pet zoo keeper in a kibbutz in Israel.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 3 Day Quote – Day 2

  1. Interesting quote..I’m adding this book to my list to order…thank you very much for Day 2 πŸ™‚ x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

