3 Day Quote – Day 1

I have been nominated for the 3 Day Quote challenge by Samantha Murdoch! Great excitement. It’s the first time I’ve been nominated for anything. So I decided my quote posts had to be phenomenal – intellectual, thought-provoking, debate-inspiring…

Only thing is, I don’t have a great memory for quotes. Not like an old friend of mine from university, who used to rattle off Shakespeare whenever the occasion called for it. I can’t recall a single Shakespeare quote apart from “To be or not to be – that is the question”. And I don’t remember what comes after that line. I was going to use quotes from Harry Potter – Dumbledore said some wise things in his day! But decided that Harry Potter didn’t have much to do with the point of my blog.

I mean, the whole point of this blog is animal care. I needed animal quotes! So I looked and thought and looked and thought some more… Until it came to me. Silly me! The perfect quote was in the back of my head all this time. It is clear and pure, and it is a simple truth, that everybody should know in their hearts.

“You become responsible, forever, for what you have tamed.”

– Antoine de Saint-Exupery, The Little Prince

The Little Prince is such a lovely little book. I had to read in in French at school, so the unfortunate result was that I understood about 10 percent of it. This one sentence though, jumped out at me and I have never forgotten it.

What an undeniable, universal truth. We humans have domesticated many species of animals and we have altered those species to such an extent that they cannot survive in the wild. By taming them, we have made them dependent on us. This gives us a huge responsibility, which sadly we often do not truly understand. Their lives, and the quality of their lives, depend on us.


These domesticated ducks have lost the ability to fly. They must forever be in a safe enclosure, or they will be defenseless against predators.

This quote also applies on an individual level. If you get an animal, that means you are responsible for that animal for the rest of its life. Quite simply. It does not mean you are stuck with it forever and ever – you are allowed to rehome this animal for whatever reason. But you must make sure it is taken care of. This is a duty that people often don’t recognise. 

Blackie and Little White – two dropoffs.

Well, that was deep! I’ll get off my soap box now. Anyway, I’m preaching to the choir. People who dump animals don’t read my posts! 🙂 I wish this quote was a law, so everyone would know it and live according to it…

Hope you all have a lovely day and your animal companions too! 💚

About tarnegolita

Dutch expatriate, mother of 3 boys, freelance translator and pet zoo keeper in a kibbutz in Israel.
This entry was posted in Animals and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 3 Day Quote – Day 1

  1. Lovely post and what a great quote! Loved it 🙂
    The words tie in perfectly with the ethos of your blog, thank you very much for participating 🙂 x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. debc says:

    I always learn something new when I come to your blog! Do all domesticated ducks lose the ability to fly or just your ducks?

    Liked by 1 person

    • tarnegolita says:

      Thanks! I think most breeds of domestic ducks don’t fly, it has something to do with their body weight (bred for meat/eggs). They can flap and lift off the ground, but they don’t get higher than a metre or so. My muscovy ducks do fly, but only the females, the males are to heavy! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. debc says:

    So they wouldn’t fly away and mingle with wild ducks? I’ve always wondered!

    Like

  4. aheikkinen says:

    Just a most perfect quote 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

