Transgender Bunnies

The new little rescue bunny is doing ok. I’ve been keeping him in quarantine and giving him antibiotics since it was obvious that he had a very runny nose and mouth – snuffles is a common and feared disease. I’m happy to report it seems to be working! His face was looking a bit cleaner this morning and he munched happily on a cabbage leaf. 

I’m saying “he”, but I have honestly no clue if this is a boy or a girl bunny. At this age, everything looks the same to me. And I make mistakes even if I do think I can see it..! Pikachu, the adorable floppy-eared rabbit who lives in the playground cage, turned out to be a boy instead of a girl – and his ears straightened up, too. Now he is the spitting image of his father, Everest. His cagemate is a neutered male, Paspas, and so far they seem to be getting on well enough. Here they are, resting after a run in the playground:

But the difference between a hen and a rooster must be pretty clear, right? I mean, tail feathers, big comb, etc… Well, there too is a margin for mistakes! We have a pretty little silvery hen we called Sylvie. There was never a doubt in my mind that this was a hen. Until I caught her standing on a tree branch, crowing her heart out. Only then, it dawned on me that her tail feathers were getting a bit long and her hackle feathers (around the neck) were quite pointy!

So now, she’s Silvio. Silvio, skewing the ratio. (Of hens and roosters.) I wonder why this never happens the other way around? You think you have a young rooster, and suddenly he lays an egg..? Well, who knows! We are still not 100% sure that our Walter really is a peacock and not a peahen. I was 99% sure, but recently a fellow pet zoo keeper told me he though Walter was a hen. I’ve been posting pictures of him on forums and in groups, and the responses were mixed. I don’t know what to think, now. I am still leaning towards peacock, but as we have seen, I make mistakes as easily as the next person. 

I am still going to get Walter a young female friend, though. Ending up with 2 peahens would be better than 2 peacocks. We will see! 

A great day to all! 💚

About tarnegolita

Dutch expatriate, mother of 3 boys, freelance translator and pet zoo keeper in a kibbutz in Israel.
This entry was posted in Animals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Transgender Bunnies

  1. Lol! We had the same problem with our girls when we got them…and all the “helpful” easy to read diagrams are not at all clear…There’s only so much bottom prodding a kitten will take before it gets cross!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. aheikkinen says:

    Glad to hear the little rescue bunny is doing fine. Beautiful colour hens. Walter is handsome/pretty 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. And we made countless mistakes with guinea pigs, resulting in even more guinea pigs, more mistakes and so on. It makes you wonder whether clever pets do that on purpose or just for the fun of fooling us. Like, ‘We completely depend on you, humans, for food, but the reproduction part of the story stays ours. Put that in your pipe and smoke it.’ 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • tarnegolita says:

      Oooh yes that too!! Baby guinea pigs are tricky! They start reproducing at a really early age but it’s hard to see which ones are males and females!! Our animals totally have a mind of their own when it comes to reproduction, and they will do anything to make sure they get their way. It was something I hadn’t counted on before the pet zoo! 🙂

      Like

      • I read or heard somebody who had thoughts on that, calling it revenge. Like the grass that gets mowed grows so fast, much faster than other plants. Like weeds that grow back the moment they are pulled out. And also like animals who know they depend on humans but have their tricks to make us depend on them. There are many who say that theirs pets own them, expressing how much they love their pets and emotionally depend on them. When we think we are in control, pets and grass shows us that we aren’t. I love that. (As I loved all those accidentally born guinea pigs. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • tarnegolita says:

        Totally!! I love that, LOL. The other day, my husband made the mistake of asking me what I would do if the kibbutz withdrew their funding for the pet zoo. I was horrified. Letting go of all the animals?? Unimaginable!! I’d prefer to pay for all their care myself. Gulp, though! Hope that never happens! And yes, accidental litters/broods are just as lovable as planned ones! 😉

        Like

Leave a Reply

