Rabbit History Part I – New Zealands

It’s been a long process, but over the summer holidays, we have gradually given away all the baby bunnies (grown up now) and for now, the rabbit population is back to the original permanent inhabitants, plus a few extra! All together we now have 23 rabbits in 8 pens. Gasp!! As long as they don’t have any more babies, they just about fit! How did it get to this, you may well ask? Well, it all started with Mitzi, Petel and Snowy.

We used to let the children choose names for the animals. We thought that would result in unusual, imaginative names. Boy, were we wrong! If it was up to them, all rabbits would be called Snowy, Fluffy, Spotty or Blackie, according to colour and fluffiness of fur. We had to step in! 

Mitzi, Petel and Snowy were the first rabbits we ever got, more than two years ago now. Mitzi, the brown, and Petel, the white, were adopted, while Snowy, the spotted bun, was a rescue. Someone had dumped Snowy in the pigeon cage by the horse stables. She had lived in there for about a year, eating bird seed. I tried for ages to find out who she belonged to, but then decided just to rabbitnap her. 

Snowy before and after. Rabbits in, birds out! šŸ™‚

Mitzi and Petel also have a bit of a story attached to them. In the very beginning, I planned to have only female rabbits, so they wouldn’t start breeding like crazy. That plan went out of the window though when someone offered me these two New Zealand giants. I LOVE giant rabbits!! They are so laidback and lazy! Kids can’t lift them, but have acres of fur to stroke! They are perfect pet zoo animals. 

Look at those ears!!

I loved the rabbits, but the girl who gave them to me turned out to be a bit of a neurotic nutcase. She practically stalked me for ages, criticising my rabbit care choices, buying her own brand of food for them and leaving them blankets and toys. I was wondering how I would ever get rid of her, but fortunately Shulman the mad duck took care of the problem for me by chasing her out of the pet zoo whenever she showed up šŸ™‚

Unfortunately, she then stalked me online and the whole thing got totally out of hand. She and her husband started accusing me of not caring for the animals well enough and and threatening to have the pet zoo closed down. I had only just started, spent all my time, love and effort on the animals and this was extremely upsetting for me. Luckily, I managed to block them off all social media and I presume they have started targeting someone else with their PETA-efforts, because I never heard from them again. Whew.

Petel and Mitzi were a male and female, about six months old when I got them. Nutcase Girl was convinced that Petel was gay, because she had never seen them mating. I seriously doubted this, but left them together anyway, because they were so attached to each other and oh well, how many bunnies could three rabbits have..? We had enough space for twenty of them!

Petel was not gay. Mitzi and Snowy both got pregnant and gave birth a month later to two small litters of adorable baby bunnies. Oh the excitement!! How the children loved to see the babies! It was a pleasure to show them off. Most people had never seen baby bunnies before and did not know they nursed from their mother. It was definitely a great learning experience.

Snowy’s 3 babies

These babies are now grown and still with us. Their stories next time! šŸ™‚

Sadly, both Petel and Snowy died in the Great Pasteurella Epidemic the next summer. More about Pasteurella, the bunny killer, in another post. Oh it was devastating..! 

And how did we end up with 23 permanent rabbits..? More rabbit history to come! šŸ˜‰

About tarnegolita

Dutch expatriate, mother of 3 boys, freelance translator and pet zoo keeper in a kibbutz in Israel.
This entry was posted in Animals, rabbits and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Rabbit History Part I – New Zealands

  1. aheikkinen says:

    The rabbits are so cute. I have never seen baby rabbits. Yay for Schulman !

    Liked by 1 person

  2. aheikkinen says:

    Would love to if your place would not be so far away. I’m in the south of Finland. I’m glad to see your pictures. Keep posting šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jake says:

    This is a wonderful write up! I look forward to reading what comes next šŸ™‚ We started with only two rabbits as well – it doesn’t take long to have a population explosion!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

