Pea-eggs

image

Ravit, a friend/neighbour/fellow mum of 3 boys, brought me a present yesterday. She often brings me boys’ clothes (her boys are older than mine), and I give her chicken and quail eggs in return. But this was a different kind of present.

The school her oldest son attends has peafowl roaming the grounds (I know!! Wow!!) and the boy, being an animal lover, watched a peahen incubating her eggs for the last 2 weeks. Until she upped and left. Ravit’s son, worried, waited a day and didn’t see the peahen coming back. So he collected the eggs and gave them to his mum, who gave them to me, knowing I have an incubator.

image

I was incoherent with delight. Peafowl eggs!! That is something I didn’t think I would see until next year, maybe. Our two peahens are too young to lay. The eggs were huge, bigger even than our muscovy duck eggs. I candled them and it looked like three had developed, but I couldn’t say for sure if they were alive.

Anyway, into the incubator they went!! They have been in there for a day now. I candled them again this morning and I’m glad to report at least two of them are alive!! I’m not sure about the third, and the fourth one looks clear. It would be wonderful if peachicks actually hatched from these eggs. The only thing I am worried about now is… What will I do if only one hatches..? I will have to play the role of mother hen for months! I know! Maybe I will give it to Ravit’s son to look after! I feel a co-operation with this boy coming on this summer! πŸ˜€

Will report back in a few weeks’ time!!

image

About tarnegolita

Dutch expatriate, mother of 3 boys, freelance translator and pet zoo keeper in a kibbutz in Israel.
This entry was posted in Animals, poultry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Pea-eggs

  1. How exciting! I’m sure he’d be excited to look after them. “Finder’s Keeper’s” — at least until they’re old enough to fend for themselves. πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    • tarnegolita says:

      I’m sure he will! His mother told me that when they lived in the Philippines, her son used to buy baby chicks on the market to save them from being sacrificed! πŸ™‚ I feel a kinship with this boy! πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Sunith says:

    Please update us on the progress – Part 2

    Liked by 1 person

  3. journeyn15 says:

    Such treasures he found! They almost completely fill your incubator. lol I hope they all hatch! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. aheikkinen says:

    Exciting, looking forward to part 2.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

