Funny Conversations

image

I had some funny, weird and confusing conversations this week. I just had to share the laugh! Here we go:

Conversation 1:

Visitor: “What do you do with all those chicken eggs?”
Me: “I eat them.”
Visitor: “What?? You actually eat them??”
Me: “Er… Yes..?”
Visitor: “Well, good luck with that.”

You won’t believe how often I actually have this conversation with various people. I find this very strange. I mean, isn’t that the point of having chickens? How can you pass this up?

image

Conversation 2:

Kibbutz friend: “Can I borrow your cat trap? There is a feral mother cat with kittens in my attic.”
Me: “Sure, this is the trap.”
Friend: “But… How will she get in? How will I get her out? What about the babies..?”
Me: “It shuts by itself. Then you put gloves on and pick up the babies.”
Friend: “Oh. But won’t she be angry? Won’t she scratch me?”
Me: “Well, yes, she’ll be hysterical. The point is, you don’t put your hands in the trap.”
Friend: “I know! I will feed her a few times first! Then she’ll trust me and then it will be easier.”
Me: “You could try that, if you have about six months time.”
Friend, eyeing the trap doubtfully: “Well. It looks a bit scary. I think I’ll just leave it for now.”

The next time I spoke to him, the cat had gone and relocated her babies by herself. Problem solved, no need for the scary trap 🙂

wp-1462648373010.jpeg

Yes, I know, it looks scary. But you get used to it. (And please try not to notice the mess in my shed.)

Conversation 3:

Guy reacting to my bunny ad: “Hi, I want some shfanim (rock hyraxes) for my son.”
Me: “Great, but I think you mean arnavim (rabbits).”
Guy: “No no, they have to be shfanim. My son said so specifically.”
Me: “You want those fuzzy, cute little creatures with long ears?”
Guy: “Yes! Rock hyraxes!
Me: “They’re rabbits. Anyway, I’ve got them.”
Guy: “Oh. Well, good, then.”

This one is confusing enough if you’re speaking Hebrew, but in English it is downright bizarre. Just for clarity, this is a rock hyrax (shafan):

image

It doesn’t even look like a rabbit, but many people here have trouble knowing which is which. I gave the guy a very extensive “rabbit owner manual” when he arrived.

Conversation 4:

Friend on Whatsapp: “There’s a dead guinea pig on my lawn. Could it be one of yours?”
Me: “No, I’m not missing anyone… What does it look like?”
Friend sends photo: “I hope it’s not a rat.”
Me: “Oh my gosh. No, that’s not a rat, it’s a guinea pig. And it’s one of mine. She died a few days ago and I buried her near the pet zoo…”
Friend: “Oh dear. How did it get here..?”
Me: “I think… A dog must have dug her up and brought her to your lawn…”
Friend: “Ugh!!”

The worst thing is, I’ve got a bad feeling I know which dog did it. I will never be able to look that dog in the eye again, now.

image

People and animals can be so funny! 😀

About tarnegolita

Dutch expatriate, mother of 3 boys, freelance translator and pet zoo keeper in a kibbutz in Israel.
This entry was posted in Animals, israel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Funny Conversations

  1. “I will feed her a few times first! Then she’ll trust me and then it will be easier.” Hahahahaha. Would that it were true!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. tarnegolita says:

    The look of pure panic on his face when he saw the trap! I don’t know what he was expecting, but he wasn’t going anywhere near it! 😂

    Like

  3. I have great memories of dassies (rock hyrax) and painful ones of catching stray cats – thanks for bringing back the days of my youth!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

